VMs, RAM, BigV and the cloud

I’ve been using a VM at Bytemark for almost ten years now. It’s the low-end configuration. I’m mostly running mail services, although it runs a few other things for me from time to time. Recently I’ve started running out of RAM for ClamAV, and I notice the platform hasn’t received any RAM upgrades in a while.

It looks like BigV would give me more memory for less money — are there any hidden costs of switching to that service? And if not, is there a migration process or is it just a case of spinning up a new VM and copying everything over?

And what are some pros and cons of BigV as compared to other cloud providers?

Hi Matthew,

10 years is a good run for the classic VM platform(s)! With BigV, we’re building something that we plan to last at least that long, if not more, using our experience of what we’ve done so far and what our customers have been asking for.

One of the main differences between BigV and the classic VM platform is that the commitment is much less - you can pay for as little as a day’s usage vs 30 days. There’s also much more scope to manage your own requirement for extra RAM, hard drive space and CPU cores.

However, we did make a compromise by not including backup space as standard, so this is one potential cost of switching to BigV from a classic VM. 50 GB of ‘archive’ grade storage on BigV is only £2/month extra on top of the basic £10/month cloud server though. You’ll have to configure this yourself as backup space but that’s straightforward through Symbiosis.

Unfortunately, there’s no one-click migration process as yet but this does mean we will keep supporting the classic VM platform for the foreseeable future. Many customers take the move to BigV as an opportunity to streamline their setup and soon, we’ll be releasing Symbiosis for Debian 7.0 (wheezy) so it might be worth waiting til then anyway.

There are some key benefits to using BigV over other cloud providers: