[TIP] Securing your Bytemark backups

I’ve been using Bytemark DH’s & VM’s for many years and the Backup space which come with these products. One thing which has always worried me is how to best secure my Backups which i place on Bytemark’s Backup servers.

While the support Docs detail using Rsync over SSL it is marked with “N.B. This is currently an experimental service;”. The docs also state "but not sensitive enough that you don’t mind it being stored unencrypted " . I do mind and so had to find a solution to this. I’ve tried a number of different solutions, including custom written gpg tar’ing scripts all of which seem to have had some draw backs. :frowning: However I think i’ve now hit on the holly-grail solution for BM backups!

Duplicity - Encrypted bandwidth-efficient backup using the rsync algorithm

Duplicity allows you to perform incremental gpg backups over rsync. This is perfect for use with the Bytemark backup servers.

I’ve been trailing it for a month and so far im very impressed. Hope this helps someone else and i’d be interested to hear your experience of it.

I have used duplicity for quite a while, although I actually NFS mount the backup space and use duplicity in “local file” mode (i.e. with a file: URL). It works well. My backup script does a “remove-all-but-n-full 2” followed by a “--full-if-older-than 7D”. I only backup important writeable directories (such as /etc, /home, /root, /var/www, etc), not the whole system.

I have very rarely needed to restore anything, but I have done so once or twice. The only problem is having to go back and read the man page because I can never remember the commands!

By the way, I also use duplicity on my other systems, mostly with an Amazon S3 target (although I am gradually replacing that with an s3ql-based backup).

It is possible to use encrypted backup files with backup2l. This worked fine for one of my customers, and at least continues to (generally) fit in well with Symbiosis etc.

David.