Domain registration

Sort of sym related…

I’m looking to move all my domains from my current registrar as they are a little unreliable.

They are all pointed at bytemark nameservers.

Who would you recommend for cheap reliable domain registration please? I dont need anything from them other than registration and custom nameserver option.

Thanks

I manage some of my old .co.uk ones with Bytemark!

Bytemark do domain registration/renewal? News to me.

Yep, seems you can register and then presumably renew domain names via your control panel. I never have as my domains are registered elsewhere, but it’s good to know.

They don’t have any of the ‘deals’ you see other registrars coming up with though.

I have been using domain monster for a few years and quite like it.

They’re part of 123-reg now… although I’m hoping they don’t move everything over into 123-reg accounts as their control panel really is rubbish! (along with their support)

I’m using 123-reg but:

The control panel is confusing.
The support is pants.
And I once lost a domain because their auto system failed to re-register.

From my experience domain registrars are all pretty shoddy.

FWIW, I use UKReg (Fasthosts). I’d never use them for web hosting itself, but as registrars they seem OK. You can dig down into quite a lot of the advanced settings should you need to.

More FWIW: I’ve had a significantly sub-optimal experience with 123-reg and dropped the bargepole many years ago. In fact, almost everyone I’ve tried, including Bytemark, has ended up with some level of frustration and manual intervention from support. One supplier even managed to change a domain’s legal owner for a week or two. I suspect a lot of the trouble comes from difficulty integrating with Registry/Registrars’ API.

For me, the stand-out provider is gandi.net – I’ve heard nothing but good things about them for at least a decade – and that’s a bit weird. :wink: (I’ve no experience of their web hosting).